Sunday, July 19, 2009
My contribution to thecolorme
check out eitherly.blogspot.com if you enjoyed this. this is what i had to share.
"Love makes the world go round."
That saying is so cheesy. Not just cheesy-cheesy but nacho-cheesy, which is way worse. But being who I am now, and what surrounds me, I realize how completely true this is, especially when it comes to my life. Love. It's such a beautiful thing, I just don't know how anyone could go through life not searching for it.
I don't really see how people could question what the purpose of life was. Philosophers come up with their theories which are good, religious leaders promote their ideas which are good, but I've always been the "cinderella-snow-white-fairytale-love-is-true-i-believe-in-happily-ever-afters" type of person. I've always wanted true love, I've wanted the nacho-cheesy story of two strangers meeting by chance. I don't see how there can be anything else worth striving for.
Luckily, I've found my Prince Charming, and not the one from Shrek... this one's a keeper. I could tell you our story and how we met and how we fell in love and how now we're going to ride off into the sunshine now but riding off is never where the story ends.
That's what bugs me about movies. You watch Cinderella have a rough life and you want more for her. Then you see her get a break and meet her Prince Charming. Obviously they wouldn't make movies about an average person who has an average life and meets an average man in a typical way and they live a typical life. No one wants to watch that. We want to see Cinderella and
Prince Charming make out, fall in love, lose her shoe and dance at the ball. Oh wait... they didn't make out. Child's movie. But you know they totally would if they could. We all want to have a life worth making a movie out of. Oh, right.. the point I was getting to. Sorry. My bad.
The point is I know the story. The falling in love part, but there is some sort of problem, then you overcome it and everything works out. Yeah, I got that. It's that everytime I walk out of the theater I'm thinking, "Well what now? They just go through life together in this world of love that they share?" That would make sense. That's what we want to think. That's why we hate Titanic, because you don't want Jack to freaking die. You want the typical-they will be okay and live together forever-ending. That's what everyone wants. It just ...it's weird. The entire relationship- the main part is the falling in love-beginning part. That's the exciting part. The only part that can be a movie. The next fifty years is what scares me.
Sitting in a coffee shop, looking at my charming I have one of those "oh so thoughtful, you got the iPod in your ears epic song playing as you sit in the car and watch other cars pass you and watch with those cars all the other lives that you will never know this could be a music video" moments. Love is a weird thing. Being with someone else. All my life, I am the main person. It's my movie and I am the narrator, the main person. Yeah there are other characters of course but they all are starring in their own movies too. So when you fall in love... your movie changes. Now you, the star of your own movie, are with someone who is also staring in their own movie. But your movies combine and you become a part of something that is bigger. There are two main people in the movie of love (cheesy, I know, I'm sorry)... but at the same time you will never and can never stop being the star of your own movie. Sick of the word movie yet? Let's go with story. It's like our ..selves, ourself is the camera sitting behind your eyes and you are now the new star of "The Hills." Your story never stops and you will never not be the main character. So being in love changes that without actually changing that. You become a team. You are now a part of something bigger, all the while still being the star of your own life. You make up a half of something else even though up 'til now you've always been ... something. I don't know. The shiz. You are yourself.
That never stops.
I'm not suppose to be talking about love here, I'm suppose to be talking about colors. Our personalities. Comparing the human self to a color. But I guess I would have to say that the color I choose for myself would be love. That is, if love were a color. And that color would not be pink or red or... freakin' magenta or something. My whole "world" is surrounded in "love" it makes my little spinny globe thing go 'round.
People are different colors. And colors are a big deal, you can do lots of fun things with colors but as a girl, I learned very early on that one of the "rules of being cute" is that colors MUST match. One person goes with another the
way one color matches another. (Someone very wise, once put it like that- simply put.) It's like the shape of people, the shape of a couple. That's their color. You know when you see a tiny little stick man walking with his... may i say... plump? wife. It just doesn't add up. Colors. We have to match up our personalities. You wouldn't wear red with orange. So if you're a red, don't even think about being with an orange- the color, not the fruit, of course.
There are some colors that are just so pretty they match with anything else. Those are the dangerous colors. They're hot. Like black. It's slimming, it goes with everything (except brown... does not everyone agree? think that... but everyone says about black "Oh black goes with everything." ....Anyway.)
Black can pick any color to be with (except for brown in my opinion, but it's totally up to black). Black can pick any color to be with. But if its smart, it will pick white. Because that is the ultimate combination. So yeah. Colors. We are different colors. So our story, the part that will be made into a movie is finding the color that will match you for the rest of your life. I guess I will just get back to you in fifty years and let you know how riding off into the sunset was and how the part after the epic "i will always love you babe tears are shed amazing kiss in the snow storm" scene and the color choice i made
went.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment